2013 Scholarships and Awards

April 17, 2013

The Department of Classics is thrilled to announce this year’s scholarships and awards made available by its generous supporters.

Undergraduate Students

The Undergraduate Award of Excellence: Marshall Buchanan for his paper,  "Horror in Seneca’s Thyestes and Lovecraft’s The Call of Cthulhu"

The Honorable Mention in ClassicsLauren Maxfield for her paper, "The Resilience of Corfu"

The David J. Neustadt Scholarship in Greek and Latin: Sarah Beal

Rebecca Lucile Cornetet ScholarshipChelsea Conway. During summer 2013, Chelsea will take part in the San Gemini Preservation Studies program in San Gemini, Italy.

John Vaughn Travel Award: Sarah Beal. Sarah will study abroad in Athens, Greece.

Graduate Students

The Charles L. Babcock Rome Scholarship: Quinn Radziszewski. Quinn will travel to Rome to complete the Diploma Programme in Manuscript Studies run by the Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies at the Vatican.

A.G. Woodhead Prize: Alice Gaber for her paper "The Light Ambiguous: Reading the Second Stasimon of Sophocles' Antigone"

For more information on The Department of Classics Scholarship Competition, please visit our dedicated Scholarship and Awards page.